President Grant Awarded Honorary Degree from Williams College


Read the Honorary Degree Citation

Dr. Mary K. Grant, President of MCLA, received an honorary doctorate from Williams College at their commencement on Sunday, June 3, 2012.

Williams awarded this honor in recognition of Dr. Grant's achievements in expanding academic programs and facilities; her work to strengthen connections between the College and the community; her commitment to educational access and opportunity, which led to the creation of the Berkshire Compact for Education; her advocacy for public higher education, civic engagement, and community service; and her leadership in advancing the science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) agenda in Berkshire County and statewide.

Dr. Grant is the recipient of the 2010 Council for the Advancement and Support of Education District I Executive Leadership Award; the 2011 American Council on Education Massachusetts National Network of Women Leaders Lifetime Achievement Award; the 2011 Francis H. Hayden Award from the Berkshire Chamber of Commerce; and the 2012 "She Knows Where She's Going" award from Girls, Incorporated of the Berkshires.

Receiving honorary degrees along with Dr. Grant were surgeon, writer, and public health researcher Atul Gawande, who served as commencement speaker; writer, editor and commentator David Brooks; president and chief executive officer of Cleveland Clinic Dr. Toby Cosgrove, a 1962 graduate of Williams; and playwright, actor, and professor Anna Deavere Smith, who spoke at the Williams baccalaureate ceremony.