MCLA President Mary K. Grant Named to New State 'Educator Preparation Advisory Group'


NORTH ADAMS, MA - Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts (MCLA) President Mary K. Grant recently was named to a new Educator Preparation Advisory Group (EPAG) established by state education secretary Paul Reville. EPAG, a group of education, business and advocacy organization leaders, have been tasked to develop a more unified, aligned, and coherent public education system that will better meet the needs of all students in the Commonwealth.  This enhanced system will reflect the evolution of teaching and leadership in Massachusetts as well as the Patrick-Murray Administration's ongoing commitment to education.

"The quality of teaching is the most important variable in our public education system," said Secretary Reville. "Improving teacher preparation is vital to improving the quality of teaching in every Massachusetts school. This working group is perfectly positioned to make a major contribution to the quality of education in the Commonwealth and I look forward to collaborating with them in this work."

EPAG members will examine challenges facing educators in Massachusetts, research best practices from other leading states, and develop recommendations for a more robust and aligned educator preparation system in the Commonwealth.  Members also will serve as liaisons to the different stakeholder groups that they represent including the Boards of Early Education and Care, Elementary and Secondary Education, Higher Education, and the University of Massachusetts Board of Trustees; the early education, K-12, and higher education sectors; educator preparation and advocacy organizations; and the business and philanthropic communities. 

The EPAG also will consider additional topics including the specific challenges facing educators in urban areas and other higher-need communities; enrollment, admission, and retention policies at educator preparation programs; principal preparation and its relationship to teacher preparation; and collaboration with other sectors to increase awareness about and support for all educators and the teaching profession.

In addition to Grant, other EPAG members are as follows: 

  Maura Banta, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
  Anna Bradfield, Bridgewater State University
  Sean Brooks, Governor's Teacher Advisory Group
  Celine Coggins, Teach Plus
  Carol Craig-O'Brien, Board of Early Education and Care
  Mary Czajkowski, Massachusetts Association of School Superintendents
  William Dandridge, formerly with the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation
  Charles Desmond, Board of Higher Education
  Marie Enochty, Boston Public Schools
  Jody Figuerido, Institute for Education and Professional Development
  Linda Hayes, Massachusetts Secondary School Administrators Association
  Nadya Higgins, Massachusetts Elementary School Principals Association
  Alyce Lee, University of Massachusetts Board of Trustees
  Shirley Lundberg, Massachusetts Association of School Committees
  Jeffrey Mullan, University of Massachusetts Board of Trustees
  Daniel Murphy, American Federation of Teachers - Massachusetts
  Patricia Plummer, Office of the President, University of Massachusetts
  Fernando Reimers, Board of Higher Education
  David Roach, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
  Linda Romero, MassBay Community College
  Eileen Rudden, Massachusetts Business Alliance for Education
  Jesse Solomon, The Boston Plan for Excellence in the Public Schools and the  Boston Teacher Residency Program
  Paul Toner, Massachusetts Teachers Association
  Eleonora Villegas-Reimers, Board of Early Education and Care
  Jeff Wolff, Massachusetts Head Start Association